The End or the Means? Fun Ways to Learn a Language

• Feedback

Ever since I started learning languages, I’ve been searching for the most enjoyable methods. Flashcards are effective, but I can only spend so many minutes a day doing them before getting bored. Of course everybody learns differently, and has different interests, so you may like some of these methods more than others.

1. Read books

I never liked reading. I always had a hard time recalling the stories after I read them. This changed once I started reading books in my target language. I started small, reading only children’s books and graphic novels, but as my vocabulary and grammar improved, so did the complexity of books I could read. I felt no shame reading Mifi at the beach in Esperanto, because that’s the level I was comfortable with.

mifi.png

Quickly I progressed to graphic novels, then saw my biggest improvement after forcing myself to read Mazirien la Magiisto - a full-fledged fantasy novel. Armed with a dictionary, I could only read 1 small page a day but forced myself to understand every sentence. After 20 pages, things started getting easier; I was seeing the same words and sentence structures over and over again. I started reading multiple pages a day, and before I knew it, I was finished the 200 page book - something I rarely ever do in English!

Find the books you are comfortable with, gradually increase the complexity, and make sure to understand each sentence before moving on to the next.

2. Play video games